Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 1.0 · October 2026

Washington

K-8 standards only

Washington's K-12 financial education learning standards, initially adopted by OSPI in May 2026, include grade-level standards for K-5 and a grade band for 6-8, but the statute read only requires districts to give grade 9-12 students the opportunity to access them. OSPI materials say K-5 teachers may consider incorporating the standards, and a May 2026 bulletin says the standards are expected to be required to be taught beginning in 2028-29 once finally adopted.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-15. Report a correction

What the law says

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
None found
Standards document
Initial Washington State K-12 Learning Standards for Financial Education (2026)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

The May 2026 initial-adoption standards include K-5 grade-level standards and a 6-8 grade band. OSPI bulletin 018-26 says final adoption is expected before January 2027 and that the standards would be required to be taught in the 2028-29 school year; that bulletin does not say to whom or in which grades, and no statute or rule text requiring instruction in a named K-8 grade was read, so this is a judgement call and the status stays at standards-only. An older OSPI FAQ (2023) says K-5 teachers may consider incorporating the standards and 6-12 teachers may be required to depending on the courses they teach. RCW 28A.300.462(1) only encourages districts to voluntarily adopt the national standards.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
No
Course length
Not stated
Effective date
Not stated

RCW 28A.300.468(2) requires districts to give all students in grades 9-12 the opportunity to access the financial education standards and encourages (but does not require) granting graduation credit for financial education courses. Bills to make financial education a graduation requirement (HB 1285, SB 5849) had not been enacted as of the bill pages read.

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards include personal finance in K-8, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach it.

Pending bills

  • HB 1285 (2025-26 biennium (2025 Regular Session; retained in 2026)): Making financial education instruction a graduation requirement in public schools.. Status: Passed the House 94-3 on 2025-03-05; returned from Senate committee to House Rules by resolution on 2025-04-27; reintroduced and retained in present status 2026-01-12; current status HRules 3C.
  • SB 5849 (2025-26 biennium (2026 Regular Session)): Making financial education a graduation requirement in Washington state.. Status: Public hearing held in Senate Early Learning & K-12 Education on 2026-02-04; no later action shown.

How to read the status

Status key

K-8 requirement
A statute or rule requires financial education in at least one grade from K to 8.
K-8 standards only
State standards or frameworks include personal finance in K-8, but no mandate to teach it was found.
High school only
A requirement or graduation course exists only in grades 9-12. No K-8 requirement was found.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.