Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 1.0 · October 2026

Vermont

K-8 standards only

The Vermont State Board of Education adopted the Jump$tart K-12 personal finance standards in 2018, and supervisory unions must align curriculum with Board-approved standards, but the statutory minimum course of study does not name personal finance. No state rule or statute sets a grade-specific K-8 financial education requirement, and graduation requirements are set locally.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-15. Report a correction

What the law says

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
None found
Standards document
Jump$tart National Standards in K-12 Personal Finance Education (adopted by the Vermont State Board of Education) (2018)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Agency of Education testimony says the Board adopted the standards understanding personal finance could be taught within several content areas or a stand-alone class. The standards document itself was not read (education.vermont.gov blocked automated access), so K-8 coverage rests on the K-12 title and the Agency's description.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
No
Course length
Not stated
Effective date
Not stated

Rule 2120.8 leaves graduation requirements to each secondary school board. H.228 (2023-2024), which would have required a semester-long personal finance course for a diploma, was opposed by the Agency of Education; its final status was not confirmed here.

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards include personal finance in K-8, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach it.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

K-8 requirement
A statute or rule requires financial education in at least one grade from K to 8.
K-8 standards only
State standards or frameworks include personal finance in K-8, but no mandate to teach it was found.
High school only
A requirement or graduation course exists only in grades 9-12. No K-8 requirement was found.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.