Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 1.0 · October 2026

Nevada

K-8 requirement

NRS 389.074 directs each school district board of trustees and charter school governing body to ensure age-appropriate financial literacy instruction for pupils in grades 3 to 12. The Nevada Academic Content Standards for Social Studies (revised September 2018) include financial literacy standards in grades 3-5 and a separate 6-8 set; the statute does not state a course length, assessment, or funding for grades 3-8.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-15. Report a correction

What the law says

Grades K-8

Grades required
3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Standards document
Nevada Academic Content Standards for Social Studies (2018)
Required by law
Yes
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Statute requires the instruction to be included within a course of study for which the Council has established standards, such as economics, mathematics or social studies. Grades 3-5 financial literacy standards appear within the grade-level social studies standards (e.g. SS.3.26, SS.3.27, SS.4.30, SS.5.36); grades 6-8 have a dedicated Financial Literacy section (SS.6-8.FL.1 to FL.11). Whether any assessment or dedicated funding applies to grades 3-8 was not found in the sources read.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
One-half unit of credit in economics and financial literacy (version effective July 1, 2028; earlier version reads economics)
Effective date
Not stated

NRS 389.074 also covers grades 9-12. NRS 389.018 lists a half unit in economics and financial literacy among social studies credits, subject to a stated exception. The 2018 standards include a Grades 9-12 Financial Literacy section.

What’s missing for K-8

  • A K-8 requirement was found (3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8).
  • Instruction is embedded in another subject rather than a stand-alone course.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

K-8 requirement
A statute or rule requires financial education in at least one grade from K to 8.
K-8 standards only
State standards or frameworks include personal finance in K-8, but no mandate to teach it was found.
High school only
A requirement or graduation course exists only in grades 9-12. No K-8 requirement was found.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.