Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 1.0 · October 2026

New Jersey

K-8 requirement

New Jersey's 2018 chapter law 167 (section 18A:35-4.34) directs the State Board of Education to require districts to incorporate financial literacy instruction in each of grades six through eight. The 2020 state learning standards also include personal financial literacy expectations at the end of grades 2, 5 and 8, and graduation rules require 2.5 credits in financial, economic, business, and entrepreneurial literacy.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-15. Report a correction

What the law says

Grades K-8

Grades required
6, 7, 8
Standards document
2020 New Jersey Student Learning Standards - Career Readiness, Life Literacies, and Key Skills (Standard 9.1 Personal Financial Literacy) (2020)
Required by law
Yes
Delivery
Not stated
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

The statute requires instruction in each of grades 6-8 meeting State Board requirements, covering budgeting, savings, credit, debt, insurance, investment and other personal financial responsibility topics, and directs the Commissioner to provide sample materials. It does not say whether delivery is a standalone course. The standards (9.1) have expectations by the end of grades 2, 5, 8 and 12 and are described as intended for integration across K-12 content areas. The N.J.A.C. 6A:8 chapter as retrieved does not separately mention middle school financial literacy.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
At least 2.5 credits in financial, economic, business, and entrepreneurial literacy
Effective date
Not stated

Part of local graduation requirements under N.J.A.C. 6A:8-5.1(a) for a State-endorsed diploma; the credit may be in financial, economic, business, or entrepreneurial literacy.

What’s missing for K-8

  • A K-8 requirement was found (6, 7, 8).

Pending bills

  • S3462 (2026-2027 (222nd Legislature)): Requires high school students to receive financial literacy instruction (amends P.L.2018, c.167; would allow grades 6-8 instruction in an appropriate place in the curriculum and add a one-semester or one-trimester high school course). Status: Introduced February 9, 2026; current status not confirmed (legislature bill status page could not be read).

How to read the status

Status key

K-8 requirement
A statute or rule requires financial education in at least one grade from K to 8.
K-8 standards only
State standards or frameworks include personal finance in K-8, but no mandate to teach it was found.
High school only
A requirement or graduation course exists only in grades 9-12. No K-8 requirement was found.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.