Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 1.0 · October 2026

North Dakota

K-8 standards only

The North Dakota Department of Public Instruction published stand-alone K-12 Financial Literacy Content Standards in July 2025 with separate standards for each grade K-8, and schools are encouraged to align local curriculum to them for 2026-2027. The state financial literacy statute (NDCC 15.1-21-21) is tied to economics or problems of democracy, which are high school courses, and the K-8 required-instruction statute (NDCC 15.1-21-01) does not list personal finance.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-15. Report a correction

What the law says

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Standards document
North Dakota Financial Literacy Content Standards K-12 (Department of Public Instruction) (2025)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Not stated
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

The standards are listed by individual grade K-8 and by two grade bands in high school. The DPI page encourages schools and districts to review and align local curriculum and instructional materials to implement the standards fully in 2026-2027. The standards document states that it respects the autonomy of school districts in developing curriculum. No statute or rule text was found requiring districts to teach these standards in K-8. The Administrative Code was not searched in full.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
One-half unit of financial literacy, or economics or problems of democracy curriculum that includes personal finance concepts
Effective date
Not stated

NDCC 15.1-21-21 requires each school district to require each student to complete one-half unit of financial literacy or ensure its economics or problems of democracy curriculum exposes students to listed personal finance concepts. HB 1533 (2025) rewrote the list of concepts; the bill actions page shows it was signed by the Governor on 04/23. HB 1533 was signed by the Governor on 2025-04-23 per the bill actions page; an effective date is not stated in the sources read.

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards include personal finance in K-8, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach it.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

K-8 requirement
A statute or rule requires financial education in at least one grade from K to 8.
K-8 standards only
State standards or frameworks include personal finance in K-8, but no mandate to teach it was found.
High school only
A requirement or graduation course exists only in grades 9-12. No K-8 requirement was found.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.