Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 1.0 · October 2026

Alaska

K-8 standards only

Alaska's Social Studies Standards adopted in December 2024 include personal finance content in kindergarten through grade 2, grades 3-5 and grade 6, and the standards leave decisions on how to meet them to districts and teachers. No K-8 statute or rule requiring financial education was found in the statutes searched.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-15. Report a correction

What the law says

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Standards document
Alaska Social Studies Standards (Department of Education and Early Development) (2024)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Embedded in another subject
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

Personal finance appears as part of the Economics strand (Anchor Standard 12, Decision-Making and Personal Finance, and Standard 13 on saving and interest) within social studies. The document states that decisions on how to meet the goals are left to districts and teachers. Grades 7-8 content was not found under the personal finance anchor in a text search of the document.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Not determined
Course length
Not stated
Effective date
Not stated

The state graduation regulation (4 AAC 06.075) could not be read without a bot challenge and is not relied on here. Bills proposing a half-credit program for grades 9-12 were introduced in the 34th Legislature (HB 90 and HB 339 text; the grade range of SB 22 was not confirmed).

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards include personal finance in K-8, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach it.

Pending bills

  • HB 90 (34th Legislature (2025-2026)): Financial literacy program in schools (grades 9-12). Status: Referred to House Finance; last action listed on the bill page is heard and held on 5/15/2025.
  • SB 22 (34th Legislature (2025-2026)): Financial literacy program in schools. Status: Referred to Senate Finance; last action listed on the bill page is heard and held on 4/4/2025.
  • HB 339 (34th Legislature (2025-2026)): Personal finance program in schools (grades 9-12). Status: Introduced 2/23/2026 and referred to House Education; no later action listed.

How to read the status

Status key

K-8 requirement
A statute or rule requires financial education in at least one grade from K to 8.
K-8 standards only
State standards or frameworks include personal finance in K-8, but no mandate to teach it was found.
High school only
A requirement or graduation course exists only in grades 9-12. No K-8 requirement was found.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.